college education - your take?

Status
Not open for further replies.

int_josh

Nov 12, 2006
do all of you here have college degrees?

I dropped out of college and doing IM full time. I love it. I haven't made that much at all, but I'm working everyday and I WILL make it.

Eventually I plan to re-invest money from my IM pursuits into assets/stocks and maybe eventually open a holdings company, that will buy businesses and oversee them.

College on the other hand is a debt trap for me. Graduate with 50-70k debt and slave away for a man to just make ends meet? No thanks.

Your tenacity is commendable but until you 'make it' how do you intent to pay for living expenses?

i did a college degree and finished about 2 years ago. before going to college .. i was into IM. and now after college i'm still doing IM. this is also what i love to do.. but i think having a college degree is good to fall back on with all the uncertainties of the internet.

Go to college to become an educated person. Not to learn to make money.

IMO college is extremely important. You just got to be smart about the debt portion. Before I went in my mom gave me the best advice in the world(she has a phd..oops.. in education and two masters), know the system better than they do. I took it to heart and was a complete con artist the whole time i was in. I had nothing but loans and a tiny bit of financial aid. I got out(4 year degree) with less than 9k in debt with extremely low interest rates and 100% deferments and had it paid off in 15 months thanks to IM and an extremely good credit rating. Meanwhile all my graduating class is still in over 50k debt for the next 30 years. All in all though it was totally worth it. However a lot is to be said about the experience of owning your own business. That in itself has a good fall back value.

I'll have my Master degree soon... I wanna experience working in some companies before starting my own and my degree will help me with that..