Being an advertiser (my experience)

HerbalGerbil

May 11, 2009
I thought I'd share my experience as an advertiser over the past 6 months. Sorry it's a long post! I'm not a blogger, I'd rather share this wih you guys on WF. I hope this helps some of you.....

So, I tried to be an affiliate when I was 16. I wanted to make millions just like any newb did. I sucked at it. Lost $$. No one likes losing money, so I quit. Enough said.

When I was a sophomore in college, I started an incent site that went nowhere. But it was during this process that I started reading the forms, the blogs, and talking to guys in the industry on a regular basis. I realized that if I couldn’t make money promoting offers that I’d have to do it some other way, by being the big fish in the chain, by being the advertiser. I started checking out offers on the networks I was signed up on. At the time, Acai was still pretty hot. Then, I found RezV. There were a few RezV offers out there already, but they looked shitty. So, I found a product…now what?

I knew a designer that I went to school with. I knew a programmer that would do a rev share. I knew a friend that started a previous internet company (that didn’t exactly succeed) who wanted to jump back on the horse. I got them all on board to launch an offer with me.

My friend and I spent about a month reading about all the rebill offers, running numbers in excel, talking to people in the industry, looking into manufacturers, checking out payment processors, etc. We had the programmer build a homegrown CRM that would automatically bill people. We found a small manufacturer/drop shipper in Atlanta. We had a GotVMail account that was used as our 800 support line. We had a support email address that I answered. We used Authorize.net as our gateway (I shit you not…). We pooled together $ in a business bank account. We opened 3 merchant accounts: PowerPay, Merchant Warehouse, and Pivotal Payments.
We had quite the little operation set up.