VPS Hosting - Recommended?

Status
Not open for further replies.

profitaddiction

Feb 9, 2009
www.profitaddiction.com
I've been searching lately for a VPS host and found: Slicehost - VPS Hosting - Rates seem competitive, services are on par/better than most competitors. Anybody worked with them and/or recommend anybody else?

/titties

nude_beach_house-sun_bathing.jpg

Yea, haven't had a problem with them. Support is great. Also you can try using the coupon 10percentoff

Not sure if it still works. Most likely.

Numbers look pretty good... You been using them for awhile?

I've been using them for a few months now and I love it. Also, their support is great. They always respond within 10-20mins, not sure if its 24/7 but I sent a support ticket real late and got back an answer real quick.

I have had a VPS with Liquidweb for probably about 8 months now. They are more expensive than a lot of other companies but their support is awesome, huge huge help if you aren't that familiar with WHM. I definitely think their support team makes the price difference well worth it.

Hi ,

I have been using SliceHost for over 1 year now. I am RoR coder, and they are, this is how I knew them.

Advantages:
1) Great and details documentation: Slicehost Article Repository - VPS setup, servers, Ruby on Rails, Django, PHP, DNS, Slicemanager and more
2) Quite decent prices (Linode is 25% cheaper)
3) High availability, never ever had downtime

disadvantages:
1) They will never give you multiple class C addresses for a slice.

No VPS hosting will ask you to install OS (as far I know). Once you build your slice, you will be asked to choose OS. You can choose Centos or Ubuntu or whatever you like. However, I would recommend you to choose Ubuntu hardy. Then, add your domain from their free control panel. After that, you have to install apache, mysql. For that, there is super detailed info here:
Ubuntu Hardy Heron Slice setup from base Slice install to fully working, secure server.

Good Luck,