Very new to this please be gentle!

upwebtraffic

Jan 4, 2011
Hi there

My name's Vic and I'm really new to all off this webmaster business. I can usually pick up most things if I have a grounding but feel I am a bit out of my depth (even in this "shallow end" part of your great forum!).

I have spent the last week or so dipping in and out of various threads on here and trying to formulate my plan of action with my latest website idea. However, I have a question (no doubt avery dumb question but hey ho!)

- Most of you guys seem (from what I have read at least) to have many domains, each revolving around a single niche or keyword. Would it be VERY naive to think I could have a single domain with a generic name and cover a whole manner of subjects in separate pages and posts? Lets think overall authority site kinda thing? I know the domain name itself won't get any traffic to the site but how often does the name drive most of the traffic anyway? As I'm so new at this I don't want to fall at the first hurdle and have a niche that lets me down... this way I figure I can just move onto the next niche on the next page and try again?

Any comments would be very welcomed.

:music07:

You can use a generic domain name, people do it all the time. For example, Godaddy.com. No one would have ever thought Godaddy.com would be a domain used for domain registering. Others have branded their own company, such as PayPal.

Most people use domains with keywords because they are easier to get higher up in the search engines quickly (SEO). Just in case you aren't sure what I mean, say you want you website to be #1 on the results page when someone searches for "purple ceramic frogs". purpleceramicfrogs.com would be easier to rank than mynameisbob.com.