Starting a blog...

Status
Not open for further replies.

WebAddict

Sep 19, 2006
Hey guys,

First post, love the site!

I have no experience with blogs, so I want to start one to learn the ins and outs. I learn by doing, so I'm ready to jump in.

My plan is to start blogging on a subject I'm really interested in and monetize with adsense. My questions are the following:

1) Which blogging software? I read how some are more SE friendly than others.
2) Templates - I also have read where it is important to change the default template. Is this true? Where is a good place to get templates.
3) Generating traffic - what methods are popular for generating traffic for blogs. I'm looking mostly white hat here. I know I'll need some links and original content, but are there methods that are specific to blogs that I may be missing?
4) Any other suggestions?

I will be more than happy to keep everyone updated on my progress as well. I'm sure other blog newbies will be interested.

Thanks!

1 - wordpress
2 - themes.wordpress.net
3 - set up some link exchanges with fellow bloggers, submit your article to various places, word of mouth
4 - keep the content informational and original.. should get some nice returning readers :)

I started a blog on blogger today out of curiosity...
Very shitty. I don't know what I was expecting.

Hi WebAddict,

Do you have webspace now or are you looking for a hosted solution?
If you have webspace and will be installing and setting up a blog on your own domain name, you'll want to look into WordPress, or my favourite, b2Evolution.

You certainly want your own unique look and feel so when you choose your blog software, browse through the canned templates that come with it. Then alter it a bit with graphics. Both WordPress and b2Evolution have user forums where people upload and share additional templates.