Providing a Service, Screwed on $, Want to Make a Biz of it, but "Can't" Sell

JohnCJackson

Mar 16, 2007
Providing a Service, Screwed on $, Want to Make a Biz of it, but "Can't" Sell

I'm not good at being concise, but I'll try. I can always elaborate in responses if anyone has some advice/questions. I'm prepared to take shit. Whatever.

Here's the short(er) deal: For the past year or so my main business has been providing a service (as in, I do the actual work), which isn't ideal, but it works. I am self-employed/contractor and I basically let someone else sell the service and I do the work. I get paid twice monthly. Between myself and 2 of my friends, we handle around 50-60 accounts continuously. There is some turnover but not much and it's usually replaced. This is through a company that sells the services and then basically outsources to us. This company also does white label resales, so in some cases other companies sell the service as well.

The people running the company paying us are not reliable at all. They have paid late a few times. There has been only one time they paid on-time without it being requested. When the last payment was due, they became unreachable for 3 days. Then after 3 days they contacted to let us know they had no money, because a few clients dropped unexpectedly. Nevermind the 50 clients that did pay and that they gave us new accounts to service a few days earlier. They wanted us to work for free for 10 days basically, until their next billing cycle. So we just stopped all work. I'm personally ready to either "erase" all the work I've done that hasn't been paid or attempt to "steal" the clients away.