My Facebook Experiment: Just created my first Ad. We will see how it goes

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newbie taking action
Nov 3, 2008
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Alright, enough of this slow going SEO crap. I finally bit the bullet and went for some PPC type traffic. This is my first attempt, so we will see how it goes.

I created my first ad a few minutes ago, and it has now been approved and is Active. I dont realy know all the ins and outs, but I will learn as I go. I used CPM and it is set at .43. Hopefully that is ok.

I will update how it goes since this is a live experiment, not one of these "I am going to..." threads. I am not going to...I am.
 


I'm about to do the same. I submitted a dozen or so adwords ads last night because i had a $100 coupon code laying around and SEO is really slow going...my ads still aren't approved though and now i'm getting antsy so im figuring i can find a coupon or something and give it a go.

Did you only submit one ad? I dunno much but from what I have read it seems like you probably want to do at least a dozen or so variations so you can see what performs best, kill the shit ones, and then refine them...interested to see how it goes though good luck.
 
ok... i'm completely new to AM... just wondering if you're going to tell what offers u running etc... fully understand if not. I think i'm gonna have my first bash at facebook this weekend... Are you using landing pages etc..? Do you use 3rd party tracking software or is all the info provided by FB? forgive all the questions.. i will try contribute where i can. subscribed!
 
@ webetricky - do you mean different ad's for the same offer or multiple offers? As I said... gonna give this a shot over the weekend so doing my homework till then. Will keep u posted if i source any vouchers... :D
 
Question:

My avg cpm is .35 But my avg cost per click is $1.13.

Super noob question. How do I set cpc, while running cpm? That cpc is killing me.
 
greyhat you have wayyy more reading to do, if you start ppc with fb this weekend you might as well flush your dough down the toilet. I've been reading hours a day till my eyes bleed for the past 3 months and still don't know wtf i'm doing but i got a free $100 ad voucher and reading will only take you so far before you have to start experimenting. Read all the stickies on wickedfire, than read all the blogs, etc..i've been experimenting with SEO, that's a good way to go for us newbs cause it's cheaper and lets you get a feel for marketing.
 
OK well maybe I'll steer clear for now... thnx. I'll see how this thread goes and take it from there. I'm itching to go!! I've been doing a bit of reading up on SEO with a bit of practice... As far as i can see you need to get the basics down so you have stuff in mind when building sites and once your up and running it's steady manual stuff... Any thoughts on outsourcing SEO work?? Seems a bit sketchy to me! I think it boils down to who you can trust at the end of the day...
 
Question:

My avg cpm is .35 But my avg cost per click is $1.13.

Super noob question. How do I set cpc, while running cpm? That cpc is killing me.

The reason why your cost per click is so high is because your ads are not targeted. Facebook is a CTR game, If you can make Ads with high CTR you will kill it in no time.

http://www.wickedfire.com/affiliate-marketing/75793-example-facebook-campaign.html - Take a look at this thread and soak it in.

Your CPC is high because you tried to target demographics without any Facebook experience. Target keywords and I guarantee you will be paying alot less per click. Once you get the hang of making profitable campaigns with keyword targeting then try demographic targeting.
 
The reason why your cost per click is so high is because your ads are not targeted. Facebook is a CTR game, If you can make Ads with high CTR you will kill it in no time.

http://www.wickedfire.com/affiliate-marketing/75793-example-facebook-campaign.html - Take a look at this thread and soak it in.

Your CPC is high because you tried to target demographics without any Facebook experience. Target keywords and I guarantee you will be paying alot less per click. Once you get the hang of making profitable campaigns with keyword targeting then try demographic targeting.

That thread is what got me going on facebook.

Anyway, I blew $50 in ten minutes. I targeted a demo, but not keywords. I will try that.

Thanks
 
Here's a few ideas:

Make sure the advert is eye catching to your target demo. Things like women, cars, money are good for men. For women try cute animals. People wearing odd or socially significant outfits work to get attention (weddings, masquerades etc.)

Use borders; try using a complementary colour, if you don't know off the top of your head go here

I've tended to find that utilising simple relevant images plus the brand logo work well.

Remember that Facebook traffic is generally pretty Lazy; people go on it to pass time rather than actively searching on keywords to buy something, offer things which would appeal to that mindset.

Split test hundreds of variations of different ads. image then title seem to be most important. Titles that ask a question which arouses curiosity and is relevant to the prospect will get more clicks.

Split test age ranges, geographic location, keywords (note, reports provided by facebook will help you narrow down). This will mean making say 3 identical ads that target different age ranges; one 20-25, 26-30, 31-35 etc.

Hope that helps.
 
Here's a few ideas:

Make sure the advert is eye catching to your target demo. Things like women, cars, money are good for men. For women try cute animals. People wearing odd or socially significant outfits work to get attention (weddings, masquerades etc.)

Use borders; try using a complementary colour, if you don't know off the top of your head go here

I've tended to find that utilising simple relevant images plus the brand logo work well.

Remember that Facebook traffic is generally pretty Lazy; people go on it to pass time rather than actively searching on keywords to buy something, offer things which would appeal to that mindset.

Split test hundreds of variations of different ads. image then title seem to be most important. Titles that ask a question which arouses curiosity and is relevant to the prospect will get more clicks.

Split test age ranges, geographic location, keywords (note, reports provided by facebook will help you narrow down). This will mean making say 3 identical ads that target different age ranges; one 20-25, 26-30, 31-35 etc.

Hope that helps.

Cool +rep.
 
Question:

My avg cpm is .35 But my avg cost per click is $1.13.

Super noob question. How do I set cpc, while running cpm? That cpc is killing me.

You don't set the CPC when running CPM. What the CPC means when you're running ads paying CPM is what it's costing you per click for each thousand impressions you pay for. Its just something that Facebook tells you, not something you set. For example, if you're paying $1.00 per 1000 impressions and you get 2 clicks for each thousand impressions your CPC is going to be $0.50. Where as if you got 4 clicks for each 1000 impressions your CPC would be $0.25. When running CPM your CPC will change based on how many clicks you get per 1000 impressions. The more clicks the lower the CPC. If you want to lower that number (and you do), you need to work on your ad copy and make it more effective.
 
Facebook just pisses me off. I see a great opportunity in my country to do this, my ads and images are targeted and keep getting rejected, yet I see some punky ass shit going to some other mobile offers and there are plenty of that shit there, probably from the same guy, who is targeting it nicely. I wonder if that motherfucker has some inside people. I lost too many hours over this. At least Adwords gladly takes my money and rape me in the ass.
 
thnx. I am just trying to find my feet at the moment. My goal at the minute is to build up a portfolio of sites with a steady amount of good quality traffic. Hopefully this will put me on better standing with the affiliate networks. the way i see it you need everything to be perfect with this sort of thing in order to maximise return... and there is money at stake!!