Most Valuable Lesson

Status
Not open for further replies.

MisterX

Jun 25, 2006
What is the most valuable lesson you've learned while working in Internet Marketing ?!

I've learned that it's really easy to start a dozen of projects at once and just get burned out, but much wiser to focus on one thing until it's finished and just then moving onto another...

Finishing what you start. Making a plan and sticking to it.

My background is in development, so whenever I get a new idea I tend to want to run with it right away, since at that point I tend to be on the boring part of the current project.

Do what you enjoy and stick with it. And be tireless with improving, updating, tweaking, and testing on your sites.

Disregard everything that isn't important and try to keep yourself motivated.
If you lose motivation then you'll never get anything finished.

3 awesome points here by the others

1. dont lose motivation
2. dont waste useless ppc campaigns on expensive keywords
3. finish what you start

nice guys :)

Definitely agree on not losing motivation. Good things take time. I'm sure some people make it big quickly, but I think most sites take a while to start making solid money.

First walk, then run. In the words of Nietzsche:

"He who would learn to fly one day must first learn to stand and walk and run and climb and dance; one cannot fly into flying."

I've tried to jump over some steps many times and it never did me any good...

my rules

My 10 Commandments
1) Stay focused move forward one step at a time.

2) Make a clear plan that is not to hard to follow.

3) Do not get discouraged when you fall back two or three steps.

4) Learn something new, make a long and short term plan take 1 hour per day learning 30min on short and long term

5) Calculate your risks, use data to your advantage. learn from your mistakes.

6) Do not be afraid of making mistakes.

7) Relies when to take a step or two back to get 3 steps ahead