How to handle job plus home balance

johnjassa

Mar 19, 2010
I have never used this forum as advice on personal life matters but I will today. I work a job which pretty much takes every ounce out of me. I am a medical resident so some months I work 80 hours plus a week. My wife hates it because I am always at work and when I come home I am too tired do anything. She works from home so she feels stuck at home and she moved out here from California and has limited social interaction.
The fucked up thing is when I finally have a weekend off I get stressed out more than when I have to work because I know eventually when we have time to spend we end up getting into an argument because she will complain how she is so lonely and came out here for me basically things which I cannot change. It pisses me off cuz I am the one working like a dog bringing the money.

Sounds like you both have some major issues seeing the other person's point of view, and both of you are unhappy for different reasons.

You either need to sit down and talk it through (sounds unlikely), or go find a couples counsellor you can both work with to mediate. Either way, needs resolving otherwise it will blow up into a massive hate filled divorce a year or two down the line.

Assuming you're not just trolling...

Is there a question in there somewhere? Are you asking how to build an online business when you're working 80 hours a week in your job?

Because if so, 2 things spring to mind.. The first is get your wife involved somehow - have her write articles, build websites, troll wickedfire, whatever. If you work set it up right, you could even call the time you're also working on your business "time together". The second thing I'd do if you don't have any time is buy existing passive income sites - MFA's or affiliate sites and outsource the ongoing SEO.

Sounds like you both have some major issues seeing the other person's point of view, and both of you are unhappy for different reasons.