Horrible oDesk Contractors

vinnythejinny

Mar 5, 2008
I have been using oDesk for last 2-3 months and have seen very mixed results. The contractors are now very bitchy about their rates. They purposely bid lower and then after hiring, act like they mistakenly bid a wrong amount and now need higher rate.

Is this just me or everyone else is dealing with these annoying fuckers. I remember a idiot posted how he overpaid a indian girl when she bidded low. I believe employers like you are ruining for everyone.

Only pay what they deserve. A guy I hired for a simple task back in August @ $30 is now asking $110 for the same task. For fuck sake, what skills did he add in 1 month?

I finally hired him at $50 and sent all the documents. He then replied saying, he is busy moving into a new apartment and will take another 4 days to start the project. 4 days long gone, but that asshole still didn't reply.

This guy is from China. I think we can expect a third grade service.

Can you guys recommend a better place than oDesk now?

That's what you get when you try to handle foreigners. I don't know why you're bitching here. Take your bitching skills (they're pretty good btw), and bitch your workers into gear.

That's what you get when you try to handle foreigners. I don't know why you're bitching here. Take your bitching skills (they're pretty good btw), and bitch your workers into gear.

This is true but I think the main problem is you're underpaying them.

I hire a few full-timers on oDesk and things have never been better.

Pick the right person, slightly overpay and treat them with respect.

If you can't find good workers on oDesk, I don't think you can find them anywhere else.

Oh, and most importantly, hire them HOURLY! Most paid per deliverable projects fail, for a reason!