Bad Economy On AF

Status
Not open for further replies.

afftm1

Oct 18, 2008
Do you believe that the bad economy will have a major effect on affiliate marketing?

No, I think people would appreciate buying things at the click of a button as opposed to burning gas getting to stores. It might translate into more dough for us :). Though, I could be wrong.

I think so. Advertising is usually the first to take the hit. I've been a webmaster since 2000. I used to work for a Northern California-based VC firm before I became a webmaster. I've seen my share of the original Dot Bust carnage of the early 2000s.

With that said, it depends on which market niche you're focused on. Adult is pretty much recession-proof. As for other segments, it depends.

I think so. Advertising is usually the first to take the hit.
ah madison square advertising thinking at its best. of course advertising takes a hit. that is because most advertising is based on the brand awareness strategy. ie "get the brand out there and we'll make sales". of course in the real world this isn't the case. just look at myspace advertising. doesn't matter how flashy/pretty/clever i make an ad it WILL be beat out CTR and CR wise by a silly ad written by a two year old but with the correct type.

why?

because we work in direct marketing not advertising.

so no, sales will continue to increase and the savvy amongst us will reap huge rewards as the market copes with the new economic climate and the "advertisers" cut back on costs lowering the competition for direct marketers.