Writtenstyle's Legit Ecommerce Business Journal

writtenstyle

newbie taking action
Nov 3, 2008
I thought I would start a journal for my quest in creating a legit ecommerce business. As for a little background, I have been an eccomerce marketing manager for a large manufacturer for the past couple of year. During this time, I have had a chance to create some great processes and profitably integrate new marketing plans in to the the business.

My only setback to creating my own ecommerce empire was the lack of suppliers. Well, that has recently changed and it is time for me to put some of my knowledge to use in building a legit business.

I have Newbie Taking Action in my profile, but I am only newbie in some areas. For instance, I have never done SEO according to SEO on this forum. I have never bought scrapebox services, had link wheels created, or used any automated backlink building tool. My linkbuilding experiences have all been blogger outreach, viral content, and other completely white hat methods.

Of course, I am working for a large company and I do not want to be responsible for any kind of penalty. I will say that white hat link building has been great, as we are #1 or #2 for most every phrase in our niche. We are even #1 for a couple of one word queries that get 100K searches a month. That is really a vanity ranking, since it doesnt convert.

I got started last week and here is what I have done so far:

I have selected 4 niches. I will refer to them Niche 1, 2, 3 or 4 throughout this journal.

I have got my Federal Tax ID number

I have applied for my Tax Certificate

I should have those by the end of the week.

Niche 1

This niche is the least profitable niche. My profit looks to be around 20%. The thing I like the best about this niche is, the SERP IQ score for the main keyword is 54. So, it is the least competitive overall niche of the four I selected.