Why did you learn PHP? How has it served you?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zimok

Click, Whirr.
Oct 27, 2008
Canada... eh!
PHPElephantMascot.gif

It's constantly mentioned that people should learn PHP but no one really writes about how it benefited them personally. What can't be done in the category of PPC / Domains / Website building that couldn't be accomplished entirely with pre-built templates/scripts etc...?

What I'm hoping from this thread is your own experience of how knowing PHP served you; when nothing pre-created/googleable could of. Any book recommendations greatly appreciated.

I'm new to php, but what its done for me so far is enable me to envision and implement the things I want to do without searching for scripts/coders and the like.

Because it's a server side language, and inevitably you will need coding done. If you want to trust the coder blindly, go right ahead.

I, for one, like the control that knowing the language brings. However, if you don't feel like you need it, and your business ventures aren't hampered in any way, by all means don't waste time learning it. To each his own.

But there is a lot that you can do with PHP, from websites to executing scripts - I'd say learn it because that's just one more weapon in your arsenal.

What I'm hoping from this thread is your own experience of how knowing PHP served you; when nothing pre-created/googleable could of. Any book recommendations greatly appreciated.

Hands down ... scraping

You can't ask google and expect to get a database or keyword set for the entire amazon, ebay, shopping.com, ........ websites

You also can't get a fresh list of keywords from yahoo buzz, Gg trends, ....... without doing a ton of manual work.

HTML is for children, viva la php