What does it mean if my CTR is low?

Status
Not open for further replies.

hookshot

Apr 28, 2008
Being a complete newbie at this game, I'm currently testing my first advertizing campaign, using Yahoo because I've heard from a number of sources it's a great place to start. I'm very pleased with it, the information contained is quite good.

However, I've noticed that my CTR is very low. One of my 2 campaigns has had 48 impressions since yesterday (I had some very specific longtail keywords for this one, so not surprised by this) but no clicks. My other campaign, for which I have around 100 keywords, a mix of long and short tail, has a CTR of 0.61% with over 1100 impressions.

Does this mean my ads suck? Should I be offering to pay more per click? The two keywords which have given me the most clicks are the ones where I'm in the lowest position (5-6 as opposed to 2-3 with my other ads). I'm pretty sure I'm targeting the right key words and phrases so I don't think that's the problem, but I would be open to any advice. Thanks!

edit: I'm also only using sponsored search, no content match.

Yeah, it probably means your ads suck. Try getting people more excited to click on your link with proper wording.

Thanks, I was pretty sure that's what it would be, but I just wanted to make sure I hadn't missed something else that may have been the reason for it.

Are there any good guides to writing a proper ad? I've been reading a bunch of threads about failed campaigns and reading the advice given there, but if someone has a straight link solid resource that would help me tremendously.

Sorry Ben, you're going to have to let me know how to check that, I'm too much of a newbie to know what that means.

low CRT is usually a combination of:

- ad copy quality
- low possition in the result search

For the ad copy issue just try copying your competition word for word
or serious split testing untilyou have an ad that works