Website cost?

Status
Not open for further replies.

steveyoung

Jul 31, 2007
I don’t know if this question is anything I can get help with here but I thought I’d post it anyway because I need some guidance.

I have a friend who was elected sheriff of the largest county in my state. He had no website, so I offered to produce a three page site for him at no cost. The site is completed and now he wants me to expand it to a 42-page site and do all the necessary updates to the site throughout the year.

I admit, I am NOT a website designer. I only produce free websites for close friends and myself. However, apparently over the years I have developed a modest talent. He says the site I did for him is better than any others he has looked at and wants me to tell him how much I will charge to do the job. He says he will then go to the Quorum Court and request the funding for the website. My problem is that I have no clue what it would be worth. I figure it would mean at LEAST an hours work every workday and that is AFTER the site’s 42 pages are finished but I don’t know what to charge him. Can anyone here help me? If not, where would you go to get a good answer?

I did freelance webdesign in high school. I charged $15/hr. I preferred to charge by the hour but I had a few clients who insisted on a quote. So when did a quote I estimated how much time I thought it would take me to build the site, multiplied that by two, and then multiplied that by $15/hr.

The moral of the story is that you are going to spend a lot more time on the site than you think. Additions/changes will need to be made, they will have new ideas they want you to implement that they didn't have originally, and shit will just happen. You may over charge the client, but thats one of the downsides of going with a quote vs hourly wage.