Took my first step today

shoulda started with shared until your established then work your way up based on requirements.

Saves a few bucks :)

I went with the lowest package for their vps, so it will be $25 a month w/ 4 IP's. I can handle that for a few months while decided if this is for me or not.

I have two sites that will be my main money sites.

1. is a personal finance blog which I think will be easy to monetize and I have a finance degree and enjoy helping friends set-up budgets and work towards getting out of debt, so even if I can't make money with it I'll enjoy running it.

2. is a poker site, I'm a supervisor/dealer at a poker room and some dealer friends and myself want to start writing about dealing and what we go through. There will also be strategy stuff and eventually a forum.

I know both areas are over-saturated but I enjoy those topics a lot. I will also be getting a2p and take a swing at ebay affiliate sites.

both those niches can be highly lucrative - if you continue to pump out really good content on both, you will see some success in a few weeks, but probably months. you're better off publishing for both those niches than trying to do anything else SEO related (so squash your ebay affiliate and amazon ideas)

You've got that patient and knowledge behind to run with both ideas.

What hosting company did you use for this project?

Oh...Are the 4 IPs static?

hostgator and I don't know if they are static (noob here).

Why squash the ebay idea? I figured the more I did the better and if I set them up correctly couldn't they be on autpilot and bring a small amount of revenue ?

Two major niches like that will be hard work. Adding on additional niche site projects for ebay may stretch you too thin if you want the first ones to have a decent chance at earning.