The Legalities of Marketing on Myspace

Status
Not open for further replies.

darthbennington

Don't poody when ya scoot
Jun 28, 2007
I just wanted to see if anyone has really figured out the legalities of marketing on Myspace. I know sending messages, comments, and bulletins is considered spam and people have been sued over it. What I haven't heard is someone being sued over friend requests, and I have never heard Myspace mention friend requests when they talk about taking care of the spammers. Has anyone explored this with a lawyer? I made a shitload of money sending just friend requests and I'd like to keep doing it, and I'm sure others would too.

I don't think this post is totally selfish.... the answer to this question will help anyone reading it that wants to market on Myspace.

I doubt they could sue you... cancel your account, maybe block your IP or cause shit with your affiliate networks..

but I'm not a lawyer and Rupert Murdoch isn't exactly known for being a nice guy.... maybe they'll send some crackheads round to rape your kids?

Yeah, I wonder if they care about people sending out a ton of friend requests, but not doing anything with the friends?

I think Jon said he had 7 figures worth of friends on his myspace accounts just sitting around...he hasn't been sued. ;)

If you don't mind me asking, is the way you make money selling the accounts with the friends?

Yeah, I wonder if they care about people sending out a ton of friend requests, but not doing anything with the friends?

I think Jon said he had 7 figures worth of friends on his myspace accounts just sitting around...he hasn't been sued. ;)

If you don't mind me asking, is the way you make money selling the accounts with the friends?

That or a fake profile that sends people to dating sites.

no, I promote an affiliate program. I make up a bunch of profiles, and then put the offer on the page. And yeah it's a dating site deal, if you must know ;)