Snail Mail Advertising for Professionals

JVHorn88

Jun 30, 2011
Figured I'd ask a bunch of advertising guys this:

I'm a certified public accountant.

I'm building my own book of business.

I'm sending a mailer to everyone in my address book, homeowner's association, and my wife's mailing list of clients from her business. I'll be sending it out in early January.

I'm bound by professional codes to not do anything sleazy in regards to advertising or I could risk losing my license. I can't say that I'm a better accountant than any other CPA or make it sound like I can do something other CPA's can't.

The mailer will have my picture on it and my companies logo, a quip about how it's tax season and to start watching for important documents with a small list of common tax documents to keep up with, as well as what to start gathering up in order to be ready to submit their taxes.

I also plan on having a list of the different business services my firm offers, with my direct line and the firm's address. Also a small statement to the effect of "If you need help submitting your information to the IRS, I'd be happy to help you with the tax filing process, please feel free to contact me @"

Any suggestions on anything else to include?

(other than tits?)

play on people's fear of the IRS. give a few scenarios of what happens when you try to do taxes yourself or by someone not certified.

I always like conversational mailers that incite fear. Something like this (just whipped this up, feel free to save it for a later campaign):