Scraping sites

hmmburger

Jun 3, 2008
Hey guys.

What would be the best way to scrape product sites for data? I'm not a coder at all, so perhaps something like uBot would be ideal for me?

I'm talking about product sites where you can pull the product name, image and other data from. So take Google Shopping, you can scrape the product name, image, description and any other data provided?

Have had a long look through the uBot thread and sounds like an ideal choice but figured I'd see if there's any other solutions...

TIA.

Thanks for the link bud but not really where I intend to go with this.

What I need is the data in a nice easy excel sheet that's all. Don't need to be fucking about with databases etc. Although I will be utilizing databases just not in that manner.

Just a case of going on the page, finding each product on there, pulling each parameter of data I specify and exporting in a nicely organized .csv file.

Regardless of whether or not you are dealing with a relational database or a .csv file, you still follow the same general practice of scraping the data.

All you change is how you store it. Instead of pushing the data into a relational database, you'll be formatting it and then writing it to a file.

Regardless of whether or not you are dealing with a relational database or a .csv file, you still follow the same general practice of scraping the data.

All you change is how you store it. Instead of pushing the data into a relational database, you'll be formatting it and then writing it to a file.

I may be missing the point here in which case I apologize dude, lack of sleep 'n that.

That thread talks about some of the ideas / uses and some links for DB's out there.

In terms of getting the data, that thread talks about coding and using PHP or whatever language to get it done?

For a code n00b like myself something like uBot could do the trick?