Ruby Compiling

thehobbster

The Kwisatz Haderach
Jul 26, 2010
www.tricklecheddar.com
I know I should search this and not post, but this section is somewhat dead so I'd rather help it liven up. Plus I don't think I'm using the right terminology.

In college I studied Fortran and C++ but never really "exported" the files. I think it was called compiling, but I can't find anything in my searching, so I'm concerned my jargon is wrong.

Basically, I'm wrapping up the "Learn Ruby the Hard Way" lessons and I'm at the tail end of my text based RPG game. I want to be able to send it to some of my buddies who played those back in the day without them having to run the ruby code in their terminal.

Is there a way to make it into an executable file for Mac and Windows so they can just double click it and run it in its own window? What is this called?

Thanks!

Hell yeah, man! Thanks for the hook up. I'll be reading that in a few after I finish the final battle against the boss. This is so epic! I'll share it here when it's done. I appreciate it.

Okay, I've been chasing this down for about 10 hours straight, trying different things. Learned that all of the "compilers" I will mention below don't compile, but create application bundles that have a ruby install in them. This sounds great, except that it creates a temporary directory with your source code, meaning your intellectual property isn't safe with this method. But here is my adventure so far:

The OCRA, "One click ruby application" works only for windows executables and has to be run on windows. I haven't tried this on my windows computer yet, I'm trying to sort out a Mac one first.

I installed the tar2rubyscript and rubyscript2exe but they broke with Ruby 1.9. Which means that guys "Allinoneruby" also broke. I found a couple of fixed, but they don't work and everyone has abandoned it in favor of Ocra, which isn't helping me at this point.

I've looked for cross platform compilers as well.