Moving to a Tax Haven. Advice please...

Status
Not open for further replies.

bassmaan

Aug 16, 2008
I am seriously considering giving up my Canadian residency and moving to a tax haven. I just had a meeting with my accountant today and have a meeting set up next week with another accountant who specializes in offshore banking and creative accounting. The main draw back appears to be that I can spend a maximum of 180 days in canada a year. However I love traveling and can easily adapt to a vagabond lifestyle. Starting with ASW I already am planning a 5 months journey around the globe working from my laptop along the way.

my situation:

I am 25 and started with affiliate marketing 3 months ago and see a lot of potential. I currently work as an indevidual in canada getting payed in US$. I have never incorporated or payed income tax(due to insufficient income). I am looking at about $250k a year profit. I own a home in Canada which I can gift to my mom.

Some of the countries I am considering are:

Bahamas
Panama
Belize
Barbados
Cayman Islands
Grenada
St Kitts

Many of these countries have ZERO tax rate and some dont even require you to keep records.

If anyone has any experience or advice to share I would really appreciate it!! This is a big deciscion for me but given my current situation and lifestyle I think it is the write one.

250k profit a year? Not worth your while.

This is a LOT more complicated that you think. I looked into it but there are some serious drawbacks that are not immediately obvious. Sit down and speak to your accountant and financial adviser about this, it can get messy.

Could you please elaborate on what these drawbacks are??