iPhone/iPod Touch App Ideas

Status
Not open for further replies.

DomainRealty

I'm a Coder
Mar 14, 2007
www.jrbcomputerservices.com
As some of you may know, I develop applications for the iPhone/iPod Touch using the new SDK. I've got a few applications undergoing the (long) review process to be let into the App Store, so I have some downtime. Anyone have ideas for something they would like to see on the iPhone/iPod Touch? Depending on the idea and a variety of other factors, I may just offer a revenue stake in exchange for an idea (assuming revenue). So, have at it
smile.gif

I'm guessing you've seen it, but the Android contest produced some pretty interesting mobile apps. Sorry I have no original ideas or input.

http://code.google.com/android/images/adc1r1_deck.pdf

Good luck man :)

Edit (semi-original idea): Take a look at the locale app, pretty nifty stuff that can be applied in a lot of ways. I thought it would be cool to have something like "RescueTime" but worked off of GPS. Not sure if the iPhone has support for GPS, I've only briefly used one.

The iPhone does have a built-in GPS (3G), and a pseudo-GPS (2G). However, apps can't run in the background. So, for something like that, the app itself would have to be open to send/track data. Kindofsortof defeats the purpose. Great idea though.

How about some sort of hide and seek game that utilizes online leaderboards?

Here's the idea: The app has admins that place 'beacons' at certain locations around your town/city/state/country. The user is given clues as to where the beacon is, and is given x attempts per day to find the beacon.