Invoicing through Elance/odesk vs going direct

King.

Dec 26, 2010
I've been using a freelance developer I found on elance for a few years now. Every time I give him work he bills me for the hours through elance. I told him he could just invoice me directly, and I'd wire the payment to him, to cut out Elance's middleman fees. He told me he's totally fine with elance, and that they 'deserve' it.

Are there any advantages to continue working through a freelancer site like elance once a relationshp has been made? For single projects, it makes sense, because of the safety of milestones and escrow. Perhaps paying through elance also allows them to build up their hours billed, which would increase their reputation in the site. That's all I can think of, anything else I'm missing?

Sounds like they get a bunch of other clients through elance/odesk and don't want to get shitlisted.

The whole milestone/escrow thing might have them feeling safer as well.

I would re-check the rules. Last time looking if you try to take the work away from Odesk you can get banned.
They can't lock that person down for all eternity. It doesn't make sense. This guy I'm using has worked on a whole bunch of new projects for me, we discuss outside of elance, there's nothing that should tie us down to the site, yet he always likes to bill me through elance.

Sounds like they get a bunch of other clients through elance/odesk and don't want to get shitlisted.

The whole milestone/escrow thing might have them feeling safer as well.
Maybe it's just convenience. Doesn't make any fucking sense to me though.

I hire tons of people through elance/odesk and although I always ask them to bill me directly, most of them choose to do it through those platforms, even if they have to pay a fee.