I got Owned!

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlakeXplode

Feb 27, 2009
I'm a newbie to the affiliate marketing. I've been in the web business for a couple years now and can build any kind of website you want in a day, so I decided to jump into affiliate marketing to see what I can do because I felt pretty confident about knowing how to market a website and what keywords to use for getting people to the site.

Here's where I went wrong. Obviously there's a ton to know about affiliate marketing... I don't think I'm using tracking correctly, I'm not getting any conversion, and I just feel lost.

I signed up with a CPA company who pushed Government Grants saying the EPC was $2-$4.

I spent $425 in three days to make $54 on a government grants campaign. My website is www.reviewgovgrants.com

I cancelled my google ad campaign cause I was losing a ton of money vs. making any money.

Can any of you guys tell me where I'm going wrong? I've got a lot to learn.

Your site has no hook. Once I jumped on, I wanted to jump right off. I also want to kick that guy's ass. I had my speakers on full blast. lol

I won't get into the exact LP, but what I will say is that "EPC" for the networks is not really "EPC" for affiliates. At least not if you're using a landing page. They only see what happens AFTER the user clicks through.

So let's say we've got a few different LPs. (for the sake of this example, a clickthrough is someone that goes to your landing page and clicks to the offer).
Let's also say this pretend offer pays out $30.00.
LP 1

• 50% clickthrough, 10% conversion
  • Network sees $3.00 EPC
  • Real EPC with clickthrough factored in: (0.5*0.1)*30=(0.05)*30=EPC of $1.50
LP 2

• 75% clickthrough, 7% conversion
  • Network sees $2.10 EPC
  • Real epc with clickthrough factored in: (0.75*0.07)(30) = $1.57 EPC
LP 3

• 30% clickthrough, 15% conversion
  • Network sees an epc of $4.50
  • Real epc with clickthrough factored in: (0.30 * 0.15) (30)= $1.35 EPC
See?