How to squeeze every $ from my website

GrindTim3

Oct 16, 2009
New York
I am the co-owner of the website www.viphappyhour.com and as you can tell it is a website that has to do with nightlife, clubs, bars, restaurants, and various clothing lines we promote. It has a very targeted demographic (18-24), which also happens to be a demo with a very disposable income ;)

So i'm asking for a little bit of feed back from you guys.

1) What do you guys think of the site? (ie: overall look and feel)

2) What do you think the best way to monetize this site is? I was thinking about putting up some ads and linking them with offers such as teeth whitening, ringtones, IQ quizzes, etc. And then just testing and testing these offers til I start raking in $$$$$$. Only problem is, I have no experience with media buying, and i'm not sure how to maximize the efficiency of the adspace.

3) Does this site have potential to make some decent money (a couple hundred of dollars per day)?

Those were the three main questions I had for you all, but feel free to give me some extra feedback. Thanks.

First of all, domains matter. To me, VIP and Happy Hour are two different things. One is elite and for a high class group, while happy hour is for all and is fun or kinda cheesy.

You have a confused brand. But, since you don't have much traffic - http://viphappyhour.com/ - Information from Alexa Internet, I wouldn't hesitate to find a new domain.

The site is too busy, lacks actual content and you shouldn't put the weather on your site (it's not going to rain in the club).

You need a blog and twitter for sure. That will give you fresh content and a quick way to reach your users.

I do like that you created a members area, the users will have value over time.

As for monetizing, why are they going to the bars, clubs and restaurants? To meet people! Dating man, dating!

How do you plan to get traffic? What are your top keywords? Who is your competition and why are you better?