help a peasant make internet monies

DanielQ

Jun 29, 2008
A police state.
A little background: I’ve been creating websites on and off for six years, but it’s no longer paying the bills. I went off to college and worked intermittently, and lost my drive. I did a little affiliate marketing but never really got it down once my first money-making niche dried up. It looks like I’m about to start waiting tables… fark that.

So WF ballers… help a peasant out.

Now, I know exactly what my problem is: I have difficultly selecting the best project and committing to it’s success. I blame it on the ADD. I own 350+ domains, but only a fraction of them are developed and an even smaller fraction actually make money.

For example, I purchased the domain livefreeordie.com, hired a designer, got some custom code, and paid for some basic link building… all in all invested around 2k. Then stopped writing posts because I wasn’t reaching an audience and since I lost interest. I got distracted and moved onto the next project, even though this one could easily become a large site. (Unfortunately it’s not a big money-making niche). At any given time I’ll have between 5-10 projects going at once, which is far too many. Time management is my weakest point.

My problem isn’t lack of ideas or lack of motivation. I’ve self-taught myself everything I know. My problem is committing to a good idea and following through, due to a lack of results.

I’m looking for advice on:

- choosing a proper niche (too many good ideas/domains), developing a plan of action, and most importantly, committing to the project
- selling a portion of my domain portfolio. Some names are junk, others are probably worth some $$$. How do I find end users or a broker who will actively look for buyers? Is it worth developing them first?