Groupon IPO Today

nickCR

Feb 5, 2010
CR
So finally they launched their IPO today. Opened at $20 and closed as $26.11. 30% increase, not bad.

What do you guys think? Is it gonna drop below the $20 mark that it started at or is it gonna sky rocket above the $50 mark?

My friend works at Groupon, and he said there was a cake today that had icing that said "IPO? More like Yum!"

Lol.

So sad... This surprise IPO is a dead giveaway that they know their biz model is going downhill fast and they are not sustainable.

How investors didn't pick up on that just shows you that there is tons of money to be made still in the stock market.

Yo Ima like be watching this stock then cause for my virtual stock exchange for my marketing class. been had shorting on that account.

100G* to 143G in like a month cuz i been had short selling skills.

*leveraged as fuck yo, jk, only 2:1

I've been paying distinct attention to Groupon for the past 12-15 months, since I attempted to start up my own daily deals site last year.

The fact that their operating expenses are so high is going to kill them. They are trying to be everywhere at once which may be impossible. Also, their margins are currently 50%. Their main competitor, Living Social, takes 30%. Competitors are just gonna undercut their margin until it's about in the 15-25% range.

tl;dr: Groupon will fail.

They worth like 25 billion today

They may be "worth" 25 billion, but they only raised 700 million with the IPO.. So instead of 6 billion in cash they have 700 million in cash and 24.3 billion in 'paper'..

They should have taken the cash..

As for opening prices, those are always fake.. No one got to actually buy it, well, no one real, at that price.. First trade was at 28 and that should be what is considered the opening price.. So actually the stock dropped..

Their valuation at $20/share was $12.7 billion. At $28/share they are worth around $18 billion.