Fake - UBot for Mac OS X?

RockDiesel

Nov 29, 2007
Saw this on Hacker News. Haven't played with it at all, but looks promising. I doubt it is a UBot for Mac OS X, but looks like it could definitely be beneficial for Mac web automation.

Fake - Mac OS X Web Browser Automation and Webapp Testing Made Simple.

Just downloaded it and will play around with it tonight and tomorrow, hopefully.

Has anyone else messed around with this?

EDIT: Oops, forgot about the Automation forum. This would probably be better suited for there if a mod wants to move it.

Reactions: guysmy

Sweet, just wondered whether anyone had seen it, because at a glance (reading the first post) thought it sounded like Sikuli! :D

I'm so fucking rubbish with automation it's a joke.

Cheers, dchuk, i will. I'm a bit old fashioned and have literally never automated a thing. I just tend to think it'll take too long to learn.

I started learning Ruby about a year ago and then decided it wasn't gonna earn me more money so stopped.

Had a look at Watir and as usual enjoyed playing on the command line, but then realised as I started going through the site, it's all scripting, which is the reason why automation scares me. Well, not scares me I can code quite competently, but I don't want to learn a new language! :)

God, if scripting isn't up your alley check out Ubot. I'm a comp sci major that dabbles in Assembly all day doing computer security, and I'm still loving Ubot to death.

wait wait wait...Ruby just scared off God?

:cool2:

:D I have a tempestuous relationship with code, because I absolutely love it when i'm learning it, but I always think, ffs, get someone else to do it, this is wasting time. You know? I feel unproductive and dirty. I have 2 RoR books on my shelf and 2 Ruby books as well!

God, if scripting isn't up your alley check out Ubot. I'm a comp sci major that dabbles in Assembly all day doing computer security, and I'm still loving Ubot to death.