erifdekciw's PPV journal

erifdekciw

May 3, 2008
I'm creating this thread because I'm jumping back into PPV and I want to keep a public blog about it to see if these public journals will motivate me to keep at it and hopefully help someone out along the way.

I'm not a total newbie when it comes to affiliate marketing, but PPV has always been a struggle for me. I've had success with it in the past with debt relief offers, but everything else has been pretty lousy.

In this journal I'm going to be focusing on dating. It seems to be one of the best niches to get into and I do have some past data from when I tried to crack it the last time.

By the way, If anyone has any recommendations on a good dating offer to use for PPV let me know. I'm only using two networks at the moment, peerfly and Above All Offers and both their dating offer selection is kind of disappointing.

Well here we go...

DAY 1: Get my current landing page to break even CONSISTENTLY on a major URL.

So the last time I tried to crack the dating nut with PPV I came pretty close. I was bidding on a major URL (A url with the potential to spend $300-500 a day) and I was beginning to break even and in some cases make a small profit.

Now I was pretty excited about this, because nobody else was bidding on this URL. I spent probably 3 months testing on this single URL, testing dozens of landing pages and my best landing page consisted of:

iQ9xpVH.jpg

One thing I noticed right away in my testing is that the images of the women didn't seem to play too big of a role in the conversion rate. It was one of the things I tested the most and the results weren't drastic enough to turn the campaign profitable so I moved on to testing other things.

The biggest impact on conversions seemed to come from the headline. That should be obvious to a lot of people who know a thing or two about copywriting, but the results from all my headline tests surprised me.