DropCatcher Owner/DNS update!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gravity

Aug 20, 2007
Hey all,

Ive been lurking on this forum for a while and have bit the bullet and subscribed ;)

I am a web dev/seo head from Dublin, Ireland with a small (hundreds) domain portfolio in multiple TLDs and ccTLDs.

My question is this:

When i win a backorder or auction through a dropcatcher they immediately update the contact details to me and update DNS to my required settings.

Now as i understand, If i secure a PR domain and do a complete Owner/DNS update, Google will drop the PR as its not slowly updated. Am i right here and if so, what way is there around this? As i have been buying a few domains with YBL's and PR but after transfer the traffic seems to grind to a halt very quick and drops PR.

Cheers and looking forward to getting actively involved in this forum.

:D

G.

Hi Gravity -- I am not sure if I totally understand what you are trying to say. Are you saying that when you buy domains with PR and backlinks, the traffic drops?

If that is the case, what exactly are you doing with the domain? How many backlinks did the name have and from where? And are you sure that the PR was not fake?

Hi Mate,

What im asking is this:

Does a dropcatcher domain lose PR and traffic from SEs due to a double DNS update in a short period of time (to catcher then new owner)?

What i have been doing is paying the likes of snap,namejet etc for catching PR domains with backlinks and parking to see the potential then developing over time. What i find is that the traffic tapers off pretty quick by the time i get to develop.

Am i just being unlucky or going about it the wrong way?

I read somewhere (on this forum i think) that only dropped domains lose PR? Is this correct and if so does this encluded caught domains from the dropcatchers or do they catch them before they expire?

Cheers,

G.