Could this be profitable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thesilly1

Trying to Live the Dream
Mar 6, 2008
www.blog4money.ca
I have been dabbling in PPC and have a question on whether this PPC campaign COULD be profitable based on these numbers. I don't want to spend hours trying to optimize a campaign that would be too difficult to become profitable. Can we determine this from these numbers?

Background: This is from a 'shopping' based site. As an example say it's about Nascar Hats (not the site, just an example). So when someone searches for a nascar driver and clicks on the ad they come to that specific nascar drivers hat section with say 10 different hats.

I did a little direct link campaign to see if it's worth setting up a site. here were the numbers...
Imp 5552 / Clicks 78 / 1.40% / CPC $0.30 / Cost $23.25
Return => 1 sale for $17.19

Since I'm a PPC newbie I decided to spend way too much time setting up a shopping type of site with this niche and continue the campaign. Some numbers...
Imp 33190 / Clicks 543 / 1.63% / CPC $0.20 / Cost $108.49
Return => 3 sale for $29.08

What's my next move here? Too early to tell? Split test and optimize?

(I'll PM the site to people if they are interested in helping but I don't want to give the niche away .... I might just be a paranoid PPC newbie. )

If you are just target people who search for "Jeff Gordon" and send them to a page expecting them to buy a Jeff Gordon hat you are going to have a hard time making any money. You need to target buyers.

You need to target phrases like:

jeff gordon apparel
jeff gordon clothing
jeff gordon clothes
jeff gordon merchandise
jeff gordon hat
jeff gordon hats
jeff gordon gear
jeff gordon products
jeff gordon store
jeff gordon collectibles
jeff gordon cap
jeff gordon pit cap
etc.

I'd also include variations with the word "buy" prepended.

The key is targeting searchers with "Credit Card in hand". That should drastically reduce your impressions and junk clicks.