Coding know-how required?

Status
Not open for further replies.

brianpaxton

Aug 18, 2006
In order to start building some sites, and making some money online, do you need to have a strong background in coding? website developement? etc?

I have so many ideas, but so little technical know-how.

As I'm reading these threads, I'm beginning to feel a little overwhelmed. Is there anyone making $2-10K+ every month, that had little or no web experience 6-12 months ago?

I've had very limited experience in terms of building a site, I've been able to set up a blog at blogger, one in typepad, and I've built a few amateur sites with Godaddy's website tonight, and 1and1's dynamic website creator.

I'm scared to even spell Dreamweaver, but Adobe Go-live looks a little friendlier. Am I focusing on the wrong thing?

(ps) my background is on the business side.

Very nice and informative site, with friendly helpful members.

I've already learned a lot, thanks.

required? not really.
helpful? definitely.

the more you know the easier your work will be. the quicker you will be able to accomplish things. and the more power you will have when it comes to tweaking your sites to have them look the way you want them to.

but there's plenty of people here and elsewhere that build half their sites using wordpress or dreamweaver, and they're not doing so bad at all.

make sure you at least learn how to use dreamweaver, and when you grow more comfortable with it, learn html, css and maybe php.

I've been labled an "extreme newbie" on this site, so keep that in mind listening to me!

I'm in your boat! I do think its wise to learn the codes. While I learn the ways of the coder, it would be nice to earn some money. I think you agree.