Canadian Corporation Tips Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

m0rtal

King of the Jungle
Jul 3, 2007
Toronto
I'm pretty new to this as I just registered a corp so I'm trying to learn all the tricks. I'll share what I have so far and hopefully others will share their tax saving tips as well as there really isn't too much online when it comes to Canadian corporations and it is a bit confusing.

I've already learned a lot from my accountant but I'm still trying to digest all this information and learn as much as I can.

I thought it would be a little easier to save some of them tax dollars with a corp but it doesn't appear to be so (especially in Ontario). There are obvious tax benefits but it's still pretty hard getting money OUT of the corporation.

Until recently I was unaware of just how INSANE the personal income tax is.

Anyway here's some info I got so far and please correct me if I am wrong somewhere.

Here's a breakdown for those who don't know:

In Ontario personal income tax goes as follows:

$36, 020 or less - 6.05 %
$36, 021 to $72, 041 - 9.15%
$72,042+ - 11.16%

Federal:

$37, 885 - 15%
$37, 886 - $75, 769 - 22%
$75, 770 - $123,184 - 26%
More than $123, 184 - 29%

Highest tax bracket total: 40.6%!! and this doesn't include CPP and EI which will be another couple of thousand and will bring the total probably to something around 44%. (aka anal rape) Before some of you go on telling me you pay as much or around there in the US keep in mind we pay 13% tax on retail goods as well (in Ontario).

Some ways to use/get money out of the corp...