Black hat vs. white hat

zoomer94

Apr 18, 2012
Is Black Hat referring to things that are illegal? I saw on another forum that black hatters have their own set of guidelines but if it's just illegal activity are they any guidelines?

I'm not looking for tips on how to be a Black Hat--just clarification.

Is Black Hat referring to things that are illegal? I saw on another forum that black hatters have their own set of guidelines but if it's just illegal activity are they any guidelines?

I'm still a noob but to me there really is no "White" or "Black" hat - any manipulation of your sites ranking be it back linking (white) or using a program to put your website over the web (Xrummer i think, which is "black") is against googles T&C's.

I don't think black hat is illegal in that you can be prosecuted, you can have your site banned from google for life though.

people usually consider for fast growth they like being black hatters but being a white hatter is no harm and its a safe way to ride on

What do you mean by "illegal"? There is nothing "illegal" about getting links. Now, is there something against Google's TOS, well yes. But you can get traffic from several avenues besides Google. So if you want to be included in Google's index, you "have" to "play" by their "guidelines", but "illegal", no, no-one is going to throw you in jail for creating backlinks, or things against certain "search engine's" terms of services.

This is a very ill defined area, Some people define blackhat differently from others.

Commonly there are 3 hats, White hat, Gray hat, and Blackhat

Googles definition:
White hat: This means that you create a website and you let it sit, and once in a while a visitor will come across your website and think that its interesting. they will then repost the link to your website elsewhere ( Not very likely and very inconsistent if your first starting out) this is why many if not almost all people resort to building links manually.