Big payouts/less volume VS. small payouts/large volume

Which Type Of Offers Do You Prefer To Run?

• Higher Payouts But Fewer Conversions

Votes: 25 33.8%
  • Lower Payouts With A Large Volume Of Conversions

Votes: 36 48.6%
  • Dude, I Make $1M A Month Off My Vonage Campaign

Votes: 13 17.6%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

I personally have only done low payout with a higher conversion rate.. Which has worked out well for me.

I'm the inverse of most folks on WF, just because my background is in products / e-tailing. Most WF'ers focus on things like lead gen (zip submit, email submit, full form submit) or clickthroughs. Not a lot of discussion on WF about product promotion & affiliate transactions.

I got started in the affiliate marketing world as an affiliate manager for a small home products company - our average sale paid 10% on an average sale of $380, but the conversion rate was low - maybe 2-4% on qualified traffic. However, my good affiliates really were generating a ton of cash for themselves - For every 100 clicks they sent they could count on affiliate earnings around $100. It all came down to qualifying the traffic before the click.

too many variables...i have done both with success / failures

that's pretty much the truth, both can be successful. I personally focus on the small payouts w/volume. Overall it's easier, all you have to do is get traffic. With the big payouts you have to get people willing to spend money (obviously a little harder).

I've had a lot more luck with larger payouts and less volume, but I'm still really new when it comes to zip/e-mail/form submits. At this point, I find it much easier to figure out the benefits of a product and put it in front of someone who is looking for that product.

This seems like a NOOB discussion. Why does it matter what the payout it? They key is conversion and if you have the site/data/idea's to market the offer to a relevant consumer base.