Bear Spray

zimok

Click, Whirr.
Oct 27, 2008
Canada... eh!
I've been carrying around bear spray for several years and never had to use it until last night. Me and a friend were walking back to my car after a hike, it was pitch black and we had our flash lights on. Suddenly a dog that's built like a tank comes barelling towards us, he's almost as tall as a german sheppherd and easily twice as big. No owner in sight and the dogs not wagging his tail and is in full growling/barking mode...

Dog's between us and my car on a single dirt road. Took the bear spray out of my pocket at 15 metres or so, pushed back the plastic safety mechanism and sprayed. It made a 2-3ft wide beam that was 10-15ft long. I sprayed soon enough that he walked into the periphery of the spray and it stopped him immediately.

Then the owner comes out yelling for his dog after all of this, and starts appologizing immediately. He parked right next to us, so he knew someone was there, and let his dog loose at night(not bright of him). He let us know he had his wife and 11 month old daughter in the camper, and he was busy making food. I would of prefered not to use the spray, and left a grace period in there for someone to call back the dog, but after the situation reached a point of no return, I was pretty happy to have it handy.

The big plus side about it is that it leaves everyone a winner, his dog is fine and I'm not typing this from the hospital with a mangled face.

tl;dr PSA for you guys to buy some bear spray.

brilliant story and glad you didnt get killed by the bear

Carries spray for years

tumblr_ln9lyhqvHh1qay81po1_r1_500.gif

These guys got torn to pieces. Definitively not that bright just staying there and watching.
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91EOVIVjkyw"]This Is Why You Don’t Mess Around With Bear Cubs - YouTube[/ame]

These guys got torn to pieces. Definitively not that bright just staying there and watching.
This Is Why You Don’t Mess Around With Bear Cubs - YouTube