Basic Coding Tutorial?

ddall

Oct 21, 2011
T DOT
Hi,

I am a complete newb, this is my second day learning about affliate marketing. So far I have the macro idea, and have read a number of guides including Nickycakes and Jonathonvolk.

However I am lost when it comes to some of the terminology. For example, in Jonathon's guide he discusses redirects etc. This is so overwhelming. I just registered a domain and bought hosting, when it is processed I will install prosper 202 and wordpress.

My question is:
Do all you guys know coding? Am I an idiot for tryin to learn this stuff (coding takes years of full time study?)
And is there a basic guide anyone could reccomend please? I get the other aspects, and I in fact have a degree in finance and marketing, but when it comes to programming I know dick all. Thanks for the help.

Tro Shi,

Real original brah. Google does not always give you the best source. I was looking for recommendations, no need to be a dick.

Is there any coding tutorials specific to the skills required for affiliate marketing?

I know you all started somewhere, the help is great appreciated.

Is there any coding tutorials specific to the skills required for affiliate marketing?

I know you all started somewhere, the help is great appreciated.

Most webmasters don't code at all, including some of the biggest money makers.

I say forget coding until you find that you *need* it, then start with "hello world". :D

Hosting, redirects, cpanel, installing CMSes, that will be enough for now.

Focus on promotion and sales pitch.

imo,
Bompa

I'm a coder, but not yet a succesful marketer.

For most smaller websites, you will be best off learning HTML, CSS, (which deal with the layout and presentation of a webpage), PHP for coding logic and MySQL for the database.

Wordpress and alot of CMS use these technologies, so it is good if you want to make your own modifications to a wordpress site.