Anyone had an experience affiliate marketing in the Photoshop niche?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NathanRidley

Jul 26, 2008
London, UK
I have a site that gets ~200-300 UV per day in Photoshop niche and have had trouble trying to monetize it. I'm stuck trying to figure out if I should sell the site or go and fully develop the community aspect of it.

There seems to be a few affiliate products out there but I don't know if they don't sell from my site because they suck or if my visitors are just not buyers. I had one affiliate link that I referred like 1200 visitors to over a 2-month period and I got one sale which turned into a refund straight away.

Yes I am an affiliate marketing noob :D

If you have a good user base just develop the site. Try and bring it up to ~1,000 UV per day and create a community board and draw in more traffic. When I use to be into that sort of stuff a few years back I remember those sites making quite a bit of money off of private advertisements (no adsense) give that a try when you have ~2,000 UV per day. With any luck you can make bank.

@CShoemaker - thanks, yeah Adsense pays crap so far. Maybe I just need a lot more traffic. But yeah I have suspected for a while that if I were to get community features into the site, it would start to get a lot more traffic as the user base grows. I'll probably start doing that on the side once I get my other project out to market. I do kind of like the idea of having the site be completely ad-funded. At least then support issues are basically non-existant and I can focus on simply growing the site and working on my main project which I am hoping will be my main earner.

Just slap Aweber on there and start building your list. Offer them freebies for signing up. Then, if you do it write, hopefully, you can make a killing on the back end.