Any Canadians In Here? Trying to Figure out Tax/Immigration Shit

Island

Jun 25, 2012
Toronto
I'm a permanent resident here in Canada, and I'll be eligible to apply for citizenship in May.

I'm wondering if opening a Hong Kong corporation would that jeopardize that? I'd still be paying personal income tax to Canada obviously since I'll be living here most of the year(since I'll need to do that to get my citizenship). I'm just wondering if they're gonna refuse me citizenship because of that.

Btw, if any of you are accountants/laywers on here with expertise in this area PM me and I'll happily pay for your time with cash or free services to explain this all to me. I'm quite unclear on how I should approach this.

as long as you bring those personal tax moneys to canada why would it care how many companies you open, can't get why would it ever jeopardize that.

I recently went through the citizenship application process myself and a foreign business presence won't be a problem. The only way it'll be an issue is if you get caught not reporting taxes as mentioned above. The application process is far more concerned with physical absences from the country. Just make sure you're spending as much of the year in Canada to meet their requirements, and try to avoid taking too many or too long of trips as that will be a red flag to them.

First, talk with a tax lawyer and an immigration expert, neither of which am I.

My 1/2 cent: Generally, as long as you are not breaking any laws (including any and all disclosure requirements), ownership of a foreign company will not hinder acceptance of a residence application to Canada.