Aesthetics & Conversions: WTF?

Conversion-Optimized Websites Should Be . . .

• Total voters

Jared Jammer

Rookie Marketer
Dec 17, 2014
twitter.com
I'm a confused newbie, and I'd like to seek some clarity from you billion-dollar big wigs.

The confusion is over the aesthetics of a website and how it affects conversions. This confusion is based on two things I've recently heard from two I.M. megastars, Ryan Deiss and Seth Godin.

First, there's this from Mr. Deiss (around 35:30):

"More times than not, simple and ugly outperforms professional and pretty. And I don't know why, and I don't like it. I mean, I would much rather create very beautiful sites, but . . . and this is changing to an extent, but I think a lot of people may, they wanna, you know, they connect more. Again, it's why is NASCAR more popular than Indy driving, than Indy Racing, you know? It's because it's more believable, and it's more approachable."

Now, just two nights after hearing Deiss say that, I read this article from that Dollar Tree Gandhi, Seth Godin:

Seth's Blog: Pretty websites

"Pretty websites are rarely websites that convert as well as unpretty ones."

He then rambles on a bit more about the point, but it's succinctly summed up in the above quote.

This is all confusing to me. From day one, I've been preached the idea that sleeker, more professional-looking websites establish trust and authority. This, in turn, increases conversion rate. Yet, here we have two guys who've earned more in the past week than my family has earned throughout its entire lineage telling me it's wrong.

So, what gives?

I think you've got your options a bit wrong and the topic is slightly misleading. A simple site should always win over a site with the latest and greatest.