22-24" Monitors

Status
Not open for further replies.

xentech

NFLol.
Aug 12, 2008
Great Britain
I'm looking for a new monitor and I'm no expert on hardware, can anyone recommend a good but reasonably priced 22-24" (preferably 24) monitor?

You will be rewarded with cookies and milk.

Samsung's Syncmasters are always kick ass. My 22" is a 2232BW. Love it! My 25.5" is better though. Worth every penny.

That's a good deal on the 2408wfp, I have it as well. It's pretty good except for that reds are over saturated and backlighting is a little uneven from right to left. Granted, backlighting is almost always worse with just about every 24" that's cheaper -- you usually need to look at spending 1k+ (e.g. high-end NEC) to get away from these problems and have really accurate colors on an LCD. Some of these issues might have been addressed in the latest revision of the 2408wfp, though.

Basically, buying a mid priced 24" LCD monitor is an exercise in never being completly satisfied with your purchase :).

Buy a 24 over a 22. 22's have the same resolution as 20's (just bigger pixels), 24's will get you 1900x1200 goodness.

Also, if you're using an on-board / integrated video card or something really shitty you'll need to get a better one to push 1900x1200. If you plan to do any gaming you'll need to spend about $150-200 on one.

If you do get a Dell make sure you get an ultrasharp version like the ones mentioned above. A lot of their monitors come in two versions, usltrasharp or cheap.

If you can wait, I'd recommend saving your money until Samsung comes out with a monitor that uses "THIS" technology. LED TV - televisions | SAMSUNG

This is one of the smartest things I've seen in quite a while to actually utilize HDMI properly. I haven't seen one in person yet, but I'm willing to bet that the picture quality will be as good as the Uber Expensive "Active Plasma" 8" monitors that I have seen.